The Early Years Foundation stage (EYFS) are “standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life”. (EYFS, 2017)

From birth to five years children develop very quickly so it is important for them to have the very best start. Using the EYFS children are helped to learn and develop in a safe and secure environment.

The EYFS has seven areas of learning broken down into three specific areas and four prime areas.

Three prime areas:
Communication & language
Physical development
Personal, social and emotional development

“These areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive”. (EYFS, 2017)

Four specific areas:
Understanding the world
Expressive arts & design

Children are observed and progress is monitored using ‘iconnect’ – parents can then look at their child’s progress and learning at their own convenience on ‘parentzone’.